Film Independent Spirit Awards 2017: Complete Winners List

Molly Shannon accepting the Best Supporting Female award for ‘Other People’ during the 2017 Film Independent Spirit Awards at the Santa Monica Pier on February 25, 2017 in Santa Monica, California.

Credit: Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images

The night before! The 2017 Film Independent Spirit Awards took place on Saturday, February 25, just one day ahead of the 2017 Oscars, and Us Weekly has the complete winners list.

The awards show, which was hosted by Nick Kroll and John Mulaney, included several titles that are also up for Oscars, including La La Land and Moonlight, though some lesser-known films also got plenty of love. 

Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea) and Isabelle Huppert (Elle) picked up the Best Male and Female Lead awards, while Moonlight picked up six trophies including Best Feature, Best Screenplay and Best Director for Barry Jenkins.

Saturday Night Live alum Molly Shannon won the Best Supporting Female award for her role in Other People and broke out her best Mary Katherine Gallagher Superstar pose, while Ben Foster, who was named Best Supporting Male for Hell or High Water, gave a shout-out to his pregnant fiancée, Laura Prepon. “To the beautiful love of my life, Laura, thank you for reminding me of the things that are truly important,” he told the Orange Is the New Black actress.

Check out the full winners list below:

Best Feature:
American Honey
Manchester by the Sea
***WINNER: Moonlight

Best Director:
Andrea Arnold, American Honey
***WINNER: Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
Pablo Larraín, Jackie
Jeff Nichols, Loving
Kelly Reichardt, Certain Women

Best First Feature:
The Childhood of a Leader
The Fits
Other People
Swiss Army Man
***WINNER: The Witch

Best Female Lead:
Annette Bening, 20th Century Women
***WINNER: Isabelle Huppert, Elle
Sasha Lane, American Honey
Ruth Negga, Loving
Natalie Portman, Jackie

Best Male Lead:
***WINNER: Casey Affleck,
Manchester by the Sea
David Harewood, Free In Deed
Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic
Jesse Plemons, Other People
Tim Roth, Chronic

Best Supporting Female:
Edwina Findley, Free In Deed
Paulina García, Little Men
Lily Gladstone, Certain Women
Riley Keough, American Honey
***WINNER: Molly Shannon, Other People

Best Supporting Male:
Ralph Fiennes, A Bigger Splash
***WINNER: Ben Foster, Hell or High Water
Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea
Shia LaBeouf, American Honey
Craig Robinson, Morris from America

Best Screenplay:
***WINNER: Barry Jenkins, Moonlight (story by Tarell Alvin McCraney)

Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea
Mike Mills, 20th Century Women
Ira Sachs Mauricio Zacharias, Little Men
Taylor Sheridan, Hell or High Water

Best First Screenplay:
***WINNER: Robert Eggers, The Witch

Chris Kelly, Other People
Adam Mansbach, Barry
Stella Meghie, Jean of the Joneses
Craig Shilowich, Christine

Best Cinematography:
Ava Berkofsky, Free In Deed
Lol Crawley, The Childhood of a Leader
Zach Kuperstein, The Eyes of My Mother
***WINNER: James Laxton, Moonlight
Robbie Ryan, American Honey

Best Editing:
Matthew Hannam, Swiss Army Man
Jennifer Lame, Manchester by the Sea
***WINNER: Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders, Moonlight
Jake Roberts, Hell or High Water
Sebastián Sepúlveda, Jackie

John Cassavetes Award:
Free In Deed
Hunter Gatherer
***WINNER: Spa Night

Robert Altman Award:
American Honey
***WINNER: Moonlight
Morris from America

Best Documentary:
I Am Not Your Negro
***WINNER: O.J.: Made in America
Under the Sun

Best International Film:
Aquarius (Brazil)
Chevalier (Greece)
My Golden Days (France)
***WINNER: Toni Erdmann (Germany and Romania)
Under the Shadow (Iran and U.K.)

Piaget Producers Award:
Lisa Kjerulff
***WINNER: Jordana Mollick
Melody C. Roscher Craig Shilowich

23rd Annual Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award:
Andrew Ahn, Spa Night
Claire Carré, Embers
***WINNER: Anna Rose Holmer, The Fits
Ingrid Jungermann, Women Who Kill

22nd Truer Than Fiction Award:
Kristi Jacobson, Solitary
Sara Jordenö, Kiki
***WINNER: Nanfu Wang, Hooligan Sparrow